language of love

Okay Sugas, since Valentines day is around the corner, I’ve been asked to give some advice on the mushy subject. Recently someone was telling me about the “5 Love Languages” quiz. After doing some research, and even taking the quiz myself, I understood its benefits.

This quiz is solely designed to give insight as to which type of needy YOU are.  Now if you’re with someone it helps in a sense you can understand and communicate to the other person what you like of need to feel loved in a relationship, and if in the right type of relationship if person A gives 100% to person B, and person B always gives 100% to person A there should be no room for selfishness,” I wants/need” or doing for yourself because the other person has you covered. Its about giving 100% of yourself to the other person.

Here is the breakdown:

Words of Affirmation
Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the words, “I love you,” are important—these people just like to hear how great they are.

Quality Time

Nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there—this person doesn’t want to hear about it, they need you to be about it.


Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. Birthdays, anniversaries ect are not really counted because those are major events where its expected, these people like the “because its Tuesday” gifts.  A gift is something you can hold in your hand and say, “Look, he was thinking of me,” or, “She remembered me.” Ladies, know your man’s favorite beer? Pick him up a 6 pack randomly, he’ll thank you for it.

Acts of Service

Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes. The words he or she most want to hear: “Let me do that for you.”

Physical Touch

This language isn’t all about the bedroom. A person whose primary language is Physical Touch is, not surprisingly, very touchy. Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face—they can all be ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love.  “Love touches” don’t take much time, but they do require a little thought, especially if this isn’t your primary love language or you didn’t grow up in a “touching” family.

 The objective is to take the quiz and share it with your loved ones so you know and understand what it takes for them to be loved, they get what you need to feel loved then show them that! This way you can’t say you didn’t know what they wanted. Its your own cheat sheet.


Get in on the conversation

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: